Day 3 – Two Thread Overcast stitch

Part of blogging for me is sharing the failures with the successes and today, like many days, was a bit of both. I was really excited to read the Workbook and discover that no new threading was needed. Phew – that was a huge relief after yesterday! All I needed to do was change the stitch to “E”. The Singer Pro 5 Workbook showed a really pretty pink girls dress made out of sheer and opaque fabrics so I was keen to try this stitch on my semi sheer sleep top. The muslin sample came out okay but the stitch looked dreadful on my actual garment. If this was design school I would be lucky to get a C-.

photo (4) photo (1)

I adjusted the tension (it was on auto) and tightened up as much as I could but it still looked bad and I was so worried about getting it “right” that I didn’t get it straight LOL!

photo (3)

This is the seam after making adjustments. The looper thread is still too loose but at least it was neater. The sheer top is waiting until tomorrow when, thankfully, I will be back to something I know. Three threads. This rut I am in may last a little longer.

Happy Sewing! Natalie

Leave a comment