Purchasing my Five Thread Serger

I was in the market for a new serger and decided to upgrade from my little 3-4 thread Singer that I had bought at WalMart 7 years ago. It works fine but bounces around when I crank up the speed and it struggles sometimes with heavier fabrics. My top “must have” for the new machine? I wanted to be able to do a 5 thread safety stitch and a cover stitch.

So my experience led me to look at the Singer Professional 5 and a Juki MO-655. But the reviews on Amazon were a bit scary for the Singer Pro 5: it was given 23 five-star reviews and 23 one-star. The return policy seems to be a big issue.

The Juki was a bit more expensive and having just bought a Pfaff Creative Performance within the last 12 months, I wasn’t really keen to have to dole out an extra $200 just to be able to get the 6 presser feet that are included with the Singer Pro 5. The higher price for the Juki was probably worth it since Juki is known for the quality. But, it didn’t do a cover stitch. That said, the Juki got great ratings on Pattern Review (my one stop shop for reviews on all things home sewing) and the 4 version thread was a customer pick at HSN.

Then I posted a thread on PR requesting assistance with the choice. Lots of lovely feedback and I had all but settled on the Juki when it was brought to my attention that Pfaff makes a 5 thread machine that has a coverstitch but the new version of the Coverlock 3.0 does not require switching out of plates etc. I was really excited, checked out the website and there is was. A beautiful companion for Pfyodor, my PCP. I carefully read the information and the website confirmed that the Pfaff does not require changing of plates etc although it still has manual threading. More research gave me a price of $899 Australian so I figured a little less here in the US, and within, but stretching my budget since it does not include extra feet or binding attachments. I was very happy because I really like my Pfaff dealer and wanted to give them the business even if the price was higher than the Juki MO655 that I had settled on. I feel that a good dealer is worth the extra money.

So I called. And turned into Alice in Wonderland. The conversation went something like this.

“Hello, I purchased a PCP from you last fall and am looking to upgrade my serger! I am interested in the Pfaff 3.0 Coverlock.”

Dealer “We don’t carry that machine cuz it’s made by Singer.”

“Singer?”

“Yeah, all the Pfaff, Viking and Singer sergers are now made at the same factory so we don’t carry them anymore. I have a nice Brother in stock and we can get you one of their coverstitch machines separate.”

Silence. Thud.

“Hello?”

“Yes?”, I replied weakly.

“I can find out the details for you when they (the owners) get back from Pfaff training on Friday but you might like to try another dealer.”

But….? We then briefly discuss the machine but he seems pretty unsure and now, so am I.

Wow. Ouch. So that’s how loyalty repays these days.

I decided to follow his advice and called the next dealer. A bit better. He doesn’t carry them either. I can get an appointment on the 30th to look at one but someone else who has already bought something from them might get my appointment because the lady who should help me gives lessons so my appointment can be given away. He quotes me the 899.00$ price with no additional feet, and only a 1-2-10 warrantee. The Juki comes with 10-10. Frustration is mounting.

I carefully explain to this dealer that I am driving nearly an hour so I would really like to sit down with someone. Then I realize that it doesn’t matter because although he can get one, he doesn’t stock them so I would be booking an appointment to sit down and discuss whatever machines they actually carry. This dealer also sells BabyLock. I inquire about the Diana. They don’t carry that either. My budget is limited. I can’t afford the air threading or jet threading machines and don’t want to spend an hour each way to look at something I can’t buy. I am not interested in another 4 thread machine (his idea so I can get something in my budget) I already have one.

I wanted to give my business to a dealer. I really did. If I could avoid it, I did not want to spend hundreds of dollars on a machine that had only 30 days warranty from Amazon or some online Sew Vac place. I was willing to pay more to have dealer support. But where’s the customer support that I am supposedly paying for? Ugh.

So, since I would basically be buying a dressed up Singer anyways – I went online to Amazon.com and bought this one:

81pfIZH0j2L._SL1500_

It came with six feet and thanks to the good folks at PR I now know that I can use all the really cool clearview feet that are available for the Huskylock and Pfaff on my machine since they are made in the same factory.

So, I finally have a new serger and I am happy with it. I still wish that I could have done business with a dealer in case anything goes wrong with the machine. But, all in all, I don’t think I could get better value for the money I spent.

Happy Serging!

Natalie

 

6 thoughts on “Purchasing my Five Thread Serger

  1. I have this machine and would like to get binder and other attachments for it. Would you please tell me what industrial attachments will work with it? Also, where do you get the clear coverstitch foo? Thank you for your help.

    • Hi! Thanks for your comments. The clear feet and attachments are available from JoAnn stores under the Inspira Label. They fit Huskylock machines as well as Singer and Pfaff. The attachments come from CuTex in NYC but I ordered the wrong ones so as soon as mine arrive I will blog how they work. I hope this helps!

      • Thank you. I look forward to finding out how they work.

        Helen E. Disenhaus helen.disenhaus@gmail.com

        On Fri, Jul 5, 2013 at 1:04 AM, Serge Ahead – Fun with a Five Thread Serger wrote:

        > ** > dawnabbeydesigns commented: “Hi! Thanks for your comments. The clear > feet and attachments are available from JoAnn stores under the Inspira > Label. They fit Huskylock machines as well as Singer and Pfaff. The > attachments come from CuTex in NYC but I ordered the wrong ones so as soon > a”

  2. I am “sew” in your place! I am so confused about a serger. I am hoping to start alterations from my home, but alas, need the all-glorious serger. I have one dealer pushing the Eclipse Dx for $1,200 (about $300 more than I want to spend.) Another the HuskyLock s21. Still another a $400 Husqvarna. AAACCKKK! Now that you have been sewing on your Singer, what do you think? Can it handle heavy fabrics? Is threading a nightmare? Is it durable? Thank you for your help.

    • I LOVE my Singer 5 thread. Threading is not that bad to me – not easy at first, but it gets better over time, it just takes practice. It can handle medium weight fabrics with ease. I haven’t tried anything heavier than 4 layers of denim since I am predominantly doing dressmaking. I must say that I am glad that I hung onto my old 3/4 thread. Originally I had planed to sell it once the new machine was up and running and I still plan to but am going to use the money from the sale of my machine towards a new Juki 3/4 thread machine with automatic lower looper threading and lay in threading on top. I do feel that I need both machines – something I had originally hoped to avoid. I hope this helps with your purchase! Happy shopping!

Leave a comment